Our trip to Alaska June 2011

Monday June 20th 2011

Monday June 20th 2011

Dear Friends and Family,

This might be the last blog I post until I get home unless it’s easy to buy those 20 minutes of wireless on the ship.  I’ll still keep writing them but will wait until we get home if I don’t get wireless.  As it is, I’ve not been using the cell phone for over a day because we’re inCanadaand that’s been hard as I’ve liked to keep up with my husband and the dogs.  Hopefully, I’ll be able to get cell phone service in Scagway tomorrow.  We have a long trip tomorrow.  First, we head to Fraser on the bus/coach and then, from Fraser, we take the narrow gauge railroad to Scagway.  Then, I go to the dog musher’s camp and have another dog cart ride.  Then, we board the ship and it leaves at9PM.  Whew!  It makes me tired just typing it all!

Yesterday afternoon, we had another dog sled adventure at Uncommon Journeys.  I think my next blog is going to deal with the different types of dog training I’ve seen.  This place has all dogs free to walk around until they have visitors.  Then only a few walk around free.  The rest have their long chains attached to their dog houses.  Also, believe it or not, these chains over lap 3 feet so there isn’t any fighting between them.  They said that there is very little fighting as they are all able to interact.  They even have play groups every day!

This company has “journeys” they do for people.  One sounded very interesting.  You go for a week and take “mushing 101” then “mushing 201” and then go on a dog sled trip for several days in -40 degrees!  Here’s their website:

http://www.uncommonyukon.com/index.php

I got to put an over suit on and go into the dog yard and pet the dogs so I wouldn’t get muddy.  The first one I went to was the Alpha girl who was half the size of most of the rest of them.  The majority of the dogs were very friendly.  And, naturally, I was the last one to leave the dog yard.  Again, a super excursion!

OK, last night, after arriving inWhitehorse, we just made it an early night and got to sleep about10PM.  I’ve got to tell you that having 5-6 hours of sleep a night is not fun but I know I’ll be able to sleep late on the ship and probably take naps.  When we get toKetchikan, we’ve got to head to the post office to mail another flat rate box or my luggage will be WAY too heavy!

This morning, bright and early, we set off for our preserve, city tour, and riverboat combo trip.  The preserve was awesome and we got to see musk ox, lynx, white fox, bison, moose, caribou/reindeer, Dall sheep, brown sheep, and mountain goats.  You will notice that some look “scruffy” looking as they are molting.  What fun!  We had not seen any musk ox, lynx, white fox, or mountain goats on our trip so far, so these were a treat.

Then, we did the city tour, going to the fish wheel (where they have a dam and in two weeks, the salmon will start coming there), touring theKlondikepaddle boat from the early 1900’s, and riding around town, seeing all of the sights.

After lunch, we went on a two hour ride in a paddle wheel boat on theYukon River.  The finale was a pontoon plane taking off right next to us!  It also paid that we had booked and paid for our excursions before we left as this boat trip was booked up and none of our tour mates were able to go.

And, last but not least, we took the local trolley to Walmart!  Yup!  I had to get my Walmart “fix” and so we rode there and then walked back to the hotel!

I am attaching some pictures tonight but will be editing and attaching many more in my next blog entry, whether or not it is on the ship or at home.  I just don’t have the energy to do many tonight.  Enjoy!

Lori and Susan

Comments on: "Monday June 20th 2011" (3)

  1. Deanna Johnson said:

    You are going to need a vacation from your vacation. What fun you are having and tired as you are, you will never regret it. Maybe I’ll get to Alaska someday.

  2. So you miss those ‘WalMart people’, LOL!

    Enjoying the posts and the pics. Can’t wait until you post about the training they do with the dogs. Should be interesting.

    Mary

  3. Hi Lori!

    Tell Susan ‘Hi’ for me(Cole)!

    I’m enjoying the blog and the pictures. Sounds like you guys are having a great time. 🙂

    Cole

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

